The College of Arts and Sciences was created by virtue of Section 7 of Republic Act No. 4067 or “An Act Converting the Central Luzon Agricultural College (CLAC) into Central Luzon State University (CLSU),” which was signed by the President Diosdado Macapagal on June 18, 1964. This provision empowered the Board of Regents to approve the creation of, among others, the College of Arts and Sciences and its four departments: Behavioral Sciences, Biological Sciences, Humanities and Languages, and Physical Sciences.

The college has since expanded into a comprehensive college that offers various degree programs in the sciences and the arts. It is now composed of  ten departments, namely: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, English and Humanities, Filipino, Mathematics and Physics, Statistics, Social Sciences, Psychology, Development Communication and Environmental Science. It started offering B.S. Biology in 1981 and B.S. Chemistry in 1982. To face the challenges of time, the college offered additional curricula. These are AB Social Sciences in 1993, AB Development Communication in 1999, BS Statistics in 2000, AB Psychology in 2005, AB Language and Literature in 2010 and BS Environmental Science in 2012. Besides offering the undergraduate degree programs and being the hub of the breeder sciences, the College of Arts and Sciences is the service college of CLSU.

The Commission on Higher Education (CHED) designated the Department of Biology as Center of Excellence in 2015.


Goals of the College

  1. equip students with basic knowledge and skills needed in the pursuit of more advanced and specialized field of endeavor;
  2. develop civic consciousness of students and train them for active involvement in environmental concern and agroindustrial development, and;
  3. mold students into humane individuals through exposure to the arts and participation in various forms of artistic activities.